Interview with Alexandra Sanchez Clark. Learning to be a mermaid.

DSC_0526

Canary Quarry swimming continues to provide good swimmers. Today we get to know a little bit more about Alexandra Sanchez Clark (1999), swimmer of Swimming Club Las Escuevas of Fuerteventura.

How did you start swimming?

I’ve been swimming from since I was very little, I almost do not remember. I began with Alberto Judge at the age of 6 in the swimming pool of Puerto del Rosario.

How many hours a day you train?

An average of 4 hours although it varies depending on the day of the week.

Where do you usually train?

As the pool of Puerto del Rosario is currently closed, I train at La Oliva on weekdays and at weekends I train here at Playitas Resort.

You’ve just finished as 4th in the Championship of Spain in open water; Tell us about your experience.

I did not have high expectations because of the level of swimmers joining, and also as I was unable to train in the same place all the time and had to adapt to the pool of La Oliva, I did not think much of my chances. However the test came, initially I was a bit behind during the last lap but I pushed without looking back and I was nearly on the podium.

DSC_0516

We know you’re a good student. How can you combine your studies with swimming?

I finish high school at 2 pm and I go straight to La Oliva having lunch in the car. My schedule depends on the day, for example on Monday I go swimming, then I go to the gym and then have an hour or 45 minutes when I can study , then I am back to water before returning home to study at night. On Tuesdays and Thursdays I have more time, about 2 hours to study.

Daughter of Spanish father and English mother. How do you deal with English?

Fairly well. You could say I’m bilingual and am waiting to get the C2 certificate.

You have good conditions to get a scholarship to a good university. Will you fight for it?

You are right. I swim, I have good grades and speak 2 languages. With the three skills I might get it.

Food is very important for an athlete. How do you take that lunch in the car?

As my mother does not work in the morning, before coming to pick me up, she makes rationed food and I have a third of vegetables, one-third protein that is fish at noon and another third of carbohydrates such as potatoes, rice or pasta.

And McDonalds?

Hardly ever. If I have a burger, it is homemade.

What would you like to study in college?

Initially I have thought about medicine but I’m still not sure 100%.

DSC_0532

Who is your favorite swimmer?

At first it was Mireia Belmonte  but I discovered Katinka Hosszú and I love as he trains very hard and enjoys what he does.

Do you see yourself living for swimming?

It’s difficult. I think at national or local level, if I could.

What distances do you swim?

In the swimming pool 400m, 800m and 1500m. In open water or long distance swim 3000m, 5000m, 7500m or cruises.

And where are you most comfortable? And why?

In the sea. You do not have limits or have to do turns and there is nothing to break your rhythm, it is just to go from here to there, as fast as you can.

Do you do other sports?

Not right now, but I like other water sports and I also like snow skiing.

You’re a ‘digital native’. How do you deal with social networks?

I do not really care. What I use daily is ‘Instagram’ to see what other people are doing in the world, and do not touch Facebook, with twitter I got bored.

Leave a Reply

